Riyad Mahrez wins PFA Player of the Year

Leicester City winger Riyad Mahrez capped an incredible season by scooping the PFA Player of the Year award.

Mahrez, a 25 year old Algerian, becomes the first African and first Leicester City player to pick the top prize since its inception in 1976. He got the opening goal in the Foxes’ 4-0 victory over Swansea earlier on Sunday as they sit on the brink of a fairytale Premier League title triumph.

He beat teammate Jamie Vardy to the individual honour, with Spurs hotshot Harry Kane coming in third.

He dedicated the award to his father, before adding: “It’s extra special because if the players vote for me it’s because they’ve seen I’ve been great this year, so I’m happy.

“Without my team-mates I wouldn’t get this award.

“We are like brothers, it’s everywhere on the pitch. That’s our strength.

“If sometimes we are not good, we know we are going to run and make effort for our team-mates. That is the secret of our success.”

The former Le Havre winger was the odds-on favourite to claim the gong after directly contributing to 27 (17 goals and 10 assist) goals this campaign to leave Claudio Ranieri’s men five points away from a memorable title.

Full list of winners

PFA Player of the Year – Riyad Mahrez (Leicester)

PFA Young Player of the Year – Dele Alli (Tottenham)

PFA Women’s Player of the Year – Izzy Christiansen (Manchester City)

PFA Women’s Young Player of the Year – Beth Mead (Sunderland)

PFA Merit Award – Ryan Giggs

Credit: Mirror

About The Author

Related posts